a map of the USA.

The State Authorization Network

The leader for guidance and support for navigating regulatory compliance for out-of-state activities of post-secondary institutions.

SAN members, log in for exclusive content.

Not a member?

Scroll to learn more
Network Connections

News & Updates (March)

NEW NASFAA Webcast - Topic:  Follow-Up Webinar - COVID-19 and Federal Student Aid: What We Know; Date: April 2, 2020 Time: 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central; Noon Mountain; 11am Pacific; 10am Alaska; 8am Hawaii for this special follow-up webinar to review some of the most common questions related to Title IV aid and COVID-19. Time will be provided for an open Q&A during this 75-minute webinar.  Register Here!

NC-SARA Webcast - Topic: 2020 Data Reporting. Date: April 2, 2020  Time: 3pm Eastern; 2pm Central; 1pm Mountain; Noon Pacific; 11am Alaska; 9am Hawaii;  REGISTER HERE!

Open Forum  - 2nd Tuesday of each month.  April 14, 2020  Time: 10AM Alaska, 11AM Pacific, Noon Mountain, 1PM Central, 2PM Eastern; Link: https://wiche.zoom.us/j/9421225612Opportunity for ALL members to participate in a 30 minute “link in” and ask questions about the designated topic to the monthly expert.  April Topic: SARA Data Collection 2020; April Expert: Marianne Boeke, Director for Policy Research and State Support.

COVID-19 and Federal Student Aid - What We Know - NASFAA  Webinar from March 17, 2020; Recording Available Here! Slides Available Here! NASFAA President Justin Draeger and NASFAA staff from the AskRegs and Policy teams review some of the most common questions related to Title IV and COVID-19.

NASASPS Collaborative Conference 2020 - COVID-19 Notice shares that the conference is cancelled.  NASASPS is exploring the possibility of hosting a special conference webcast series.  More on that as it becomes available.  Registrants may cancel their reservations without penalty.

WCET +University of Maryland Global Campus Summit; Now Virtual with same rich content!  You can still register for this virtual event!

NC-SARA Webcast  from March 17, 2020  Topic:  Proposed SARA Manual Changes for the May 2020 Board Meeting;  Recording Here!

SAN Virtual Seminar 2020: Update on HEA & Federal Rulemaking: The Impact on Institutional Compliance.   Registration is Closed. Registrants received access by email on February 25, 2020.  The seminar is asynchronous participation with the videos and accompanying documents for the registered participants. 

SAN Basics Workshop Has been postponed until September 10-11, 2020 (still in Boulder, CO). Registrants should look for an email with instructions to transfer the registration to September or cancel with no fee if you cannot attend.  New information to re-open the registration for September for the remaining seats will be posted soon.  Stay Tuned!

General Disclosure  That is the Title of our SAN Podcast Offerings!  Go to the link to gain access to our SAN podcasts!  Our podcast mission:  General Disclosure focuses on the individual humans behind state authorization regulation. Regular features of the podcast include a conversation with a state authorization professional, a snapshot of a specific regulation, and brief commentary on musical theater. As with all SAN offerings, we want this to reflect the wishes of our members, so it is a work in progress

.

 

COVID-19 Institutional (formerly regional) Accreditor Guidance Weblinks - list of accreditor webpages

COVID-19 Licensure Bd Guidance - National Associations for State Licensure Boards - list of weblinks to guidance

COVID-19 Programmatic Accreditor Guidance Weblinks - list of programmatic accreditors webpages

COVID-19 State Plans/Resources; SHEEO sharing various State Higher Education Agency Responses

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Updates & Resources; WCET Resources, WCET Event Updates, & External Resources

U.S. Department of Education Guidance for interruptions of study related to Coronavirus (COVID-19); USED 3/5/20 updated 3/20/20

Colorado Department of Labor and Employment ( Workers Compensation State Regulations:  C.R.S. 8-40-302(7) )

Common Professional Board National Links:  Updated April 2019 (requires SAN Member login)

Licensed Professions per State with Board links Updated October 1, 2019 (requires SAN Member login)

NC-SARA Website

Nursing requirements for prelicensure nursing programs & Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) programs listed by state  - prepared by National Council State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)

Professional Licensure Disclosures: Implementation Handbook for Institutional Compliance with the 2019 Federal Regulations. Includes Flowchart!  by author Shari Miller (requires SAN Member login)

SARA Manual - note this page has several manuals and handbooks.  This is where you will ensure that you have the most up to date SARA Manual.

Student Complaint Information by State and Agency - Updated December 2019

The Guide (replaces the SHEEO Surveys)

U.S. Department of Education Guidance Portal & New Regulations Webcast recordings (scroll to the very bottom of the page)

WCET Frontiers 

WCET Page: Jobs posted by members

How We Help
SAN sponsored analysis, best practices, training, timely updates, and resources are provided for SAN Members.

State Authorization 101

Introductory material to understand the foundation of state authorization compliance.

Membership

 Members share information and obtain direction and assistance through:

  • Training workshops and webcasts.
  • Discussions with regulators and experts.
  • Monthly calls , email discussions, and face to face meetings.
  • Research reports and state-by-state analyses.
  • Reciprocity advice.

Latest Resources