What is the State Authorization Network (SAN)?

In March 2011, WCET (WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies) created the State Authorization Network (SAN) to serve institutions and organizations nationwide by providing training, support, and opportunities to collaborate to navigate regulatory compliance for out-of-state activities of post-secondary institutions.

By joining SAN, members will receive important State Authorization support in the years to come to compliment compliance through reciprocity (SARA), managing Federal compliance, as well as continuing to support institutions attaining compliance through traditional individual state process.

SAN members collaborate to address the problems, discuss solutions, and prepare for the future.

Currently, SAN maintains more than 100 memberships that include more than 700 institutions nationwide!  View our current SAN Participants.

SAN Advisory Group


Beginning in 2018, SAN established the SAN Advisory Group.  The five member panel of SAN members serve the membership by making recommendations on programmatic issues of interest to the membership at-large.  The SAN Advisory Group will meet virtually periodically and may create a face to face meeting opportunity to coincide with the NASASPS Annual Conference, which is a collaboration with SAN.

Anyone who is a staff member with a SAN member institution or organization can be nominated to serve on the Advisory Group.  Nominees do not have to be designated as the “SAN coordinator” for the membership. 

The 2018 SAN Advisory Group Election has concluded.  Thank you to all who participated.

If you have any further questions, please contact Cheryl Dowd, cdowd@wiche.edu or Dan Silverman, dsilverman@wiche.edu.

Advisory Group Members

The SAN Advisory Group consists of the following members:

Kathryn Cross – University of Louisville (KYVC) – 2 year term

Tyson Heath – Western Governors University – 3 year term

Heather Jaramillo – University of New Mexico – 2 year term

Terrence Scarborough – North Carolina  SARA (UNC – General Administration) – 3 year term

Lisa Siefker – The Ohio State University – 3 year term

WCET (WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies)

About WCET

WCET (WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies) is the leader in the practice, policy, & advocacy of technology-enhanced learning in higher education. WCET is a national, member-driven, non-profit which brings together colleges, universities, higher education organizations, and companies to collectively improve the quality and reach of technology-enhanced learning programs.  WCET was founded by WICHE (Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education) to meet a growing need to integrate distance learning and educational technology into the academic services of higher education institutions in the western region.  The WCET membership is a critical part of WCET|SAN.  WCET, an established organization for 30 years, provides information on relevant topic areas that are critical for compliance staff to engage in meaningful dialogue at the institution to develop institutionally unified compliance strategies. We invite you to learn more about membership and consider joining.

WICHE (Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education)


Created in 1953, WICHE (Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education)is one of four regional U.S. interstate compacts.  This dynamic federal compact, composed of 16 Western states and territories, maintains a diverse portfolio of programs and priorities that help students pursue higher education affordably and conveniently, accelerate region-wide sharing of ideas and resources, provide expert research and policy guidance, and prepare universities, colleges, and communities for social, economic and technological change. WICHE was a leader in establishing the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA).  WICHE maintains four departments:  Mental Health Program, Policy Analysis and Research, Programs and Services, and WCET. Learn more at wiche.edu.