Webinar
Other Higher Education Issues

SAN & WCET Present: Cybersecurity Two Part Webinar Series

Archived Materials from the completed webinars AVAILABLE HERE! (recordings, transcripts & slide decks)

 

STILL TIME TO REGISTER FOR Webinar Part 2:  Postsecondary Cyber Risks Associated with 3rd Parties Due to a Ransomware Incident

  • Description:  Addressing the management of cyber risks associated with 3rd party vendors due to a ransomware incident. 
  • Date:  June 8, 2022; Time: 9AM Alaska, 10AM Pacific, 11AM Mountain, 12 PM Central, 1 PM Eastern

 

See Archived Materials for Webinar Part 1:  CISA Overview Briefing on the Cybersecurity Threat to Postsecondary Institutions:

  • Description:  Policy briefing addressing cyber security threats and promotion of cyber resilience and preparedness for postsecondary institutions.
  • Date:  May 11, 2022

 

Presenter:  Dave Sonheim, Chief of Cybersecurity, Region VIII; CISA, Department of Homeland Security

Dave currently serves as the supervisor at the regional headquarters for all the CISA Region VIII Cybersecurity Advisors (CSAs). The CISA Region VIII Cybersecurity Advisor program includes promoting cyber resilience and preparedness through public and private sectors partnerships through various engagement activities and performing risk and resilience-based assessments. Mr. Sonheim began his full-time federal career in 2002 with the COLO National Guard G6/CIO office. Serving as the Deputy CIO for the last ten years at the agency. As part of his connection to the National Guard he is also an actively weekend drilling National Guard Officer with over 25yrs of military service. His current role as a traditional weekend drilling Soldier is on Joint Staff as the J6/CIO Director, responsible for the deployment of the Defensive Cyber Operations (DCO) Team, responsible for domestic cyber incident response and defense of the DODIN-Army Network. He served as the TF Cyber Commander for the CDOT ransomware event in 2018 and shortly after transitioned to full time employment with DHS/CISA in his current role as a Chief of Cyber for region VIII out of the Denver Federal Center.

More about US Department of Homeland Security (DHS) - Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) 

The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) is the Nation’s risk advisor, working with partners to defend against today’s threats and collaborating with industry to build more secure and resilient infrastructure for the future. CISA is at the heart of mobilizing a collective defense as we lead the Nation’s efforts to understand and manage risk to our critical infrastructure. Our partners in this mission span the public and private sectors. Programs and services, we provide are driven by our comprehensive understanding of the risk environment and the corresponding needs identified by our stakeholders. We seek to help organizations better manage risk and increase resilience using all available resources, whether provided by the Federal Government, commercial vendors, or their own capabilities.

Details
Start Date: 06.08.2022
Share via link
https://wcetsan.wiche.edu/events/san-wcet-present-cybersecurity-two-part-webinar-series